Sneek Peek: Asics x Ronnie Fieg Gel Lyte lll “Leather Backs”


…and so it starts. Ronnie Fieg just posted this on his blog with two simple words, “Leather Backs“. Going by that and this pic, lets try to break down the shoe a little from what can be seen. From the capture you can see RF’s signature perforated toe-box and toe-cap in a nice Grey suede. The front overlay and side panels look to be in a black leather, hence the words “Leather Backs“. You can than see hints, of what looks to be, a Chlorine Blue on the out-sole and Tiger Stripes underlining that could possibly be 3M. But, we’ll just have to wait until we get full images of this Tron-esque looking design…

I’ll tell you that from what is shown, I’m pretty damn excited. Grey tones color-blocked with Black is always a dope combo.Add a hint of a POP color in the right places and the design could turn out even better. But, we’ll have to wait until RF fully reveals the shoe before I tip my hat to him again. Design kinda reminds me of his Salmon toe-box a little from this shot. Already looking like a nice start for 2011 from his end…

What do you guys think so far?

25 thoughts on “Sneek Peek: Asics x Ronnie Fieg Gel Lyte lll “Leather Backs”

  1. Ohhh!!! I need myself a pair of RF’s this year! These look so good. There is a hint of “Nazar eye’s” over them i think, which is only a good thing.

    How will we ever get them over the pond? : (

    • I don’t think so, but what did u think about them? I like them a lot and it’s definitely a different twist from what he’s done. At the same time, I think he out did last years release with them. Looking forward to owning a pair or two.

  2. i think it´s one of his best CWs so far..
    the materials are top notch…
    unfortunately DZ does not ship to Europe…

    did you grab the teal dragons?

    • Actually, according to a comment above, they will be shipping international. so there amy be hope. No, I didn’t pick up the Teal dragons. I like them, but I don’t like them at the same time. I think there will be other release coming that I would rather spend my money on. Materials look decent on them, but I just couldn’t pull the trigger. I would rather get another c/w from the J.Crew pack. I actually ordered the J.Crew Rusted Orange pair today.

  3. Pingback: Sneek Peek: Asics x Ronnie Fieg GT ll Sample 2011 « Vagrant Sneaker

  4. Whats up with these? the teaser pic was posted back in february and i havent heard anything since. were they scrapped?

      • oh wth man, now you got me all excited and giddy. its unlike fieg to post a pic of his shoes then wait this long to release, so i figured they were scrapped. thanks for the update bro

  5. Pingback: Sneek Peek: Asics x Ronnie Fieg Gel Lyte lll “Leather Backs” « Vagrant Sneaker

Leave a Reply

